My experience in the project Global.me in Finland

Image

 

”He who opens a school closes prisons.” – Victor Hugo

For me it was a big challenge to leave my home comfort and to dunk in the atmosphere of an unknown country, for which though I had heard really nice things and to meet young people from all over the world. My adventures started from the very beginning, from the airport- my luggage got lost, pouring rain greeted me in Helsinki, but irrespective of that, my mood wasn’t influenced at all. I felt that I am on the right place. I had high expectations, i was going to meet new people and overmaster new knowledge and skills and I was so excited!

The first month that we spent in Tuusula was an amazing experience, we were learning Finnish, we met many NGO representatives and we realized that in Finland people think and care a lot about human rights and human education and tolerance and equal opportunities for everyone. We learned many ways of teaching through games.

They prepared us for our meeting with the students. Yes, that was a base preparation with the most necessary, but if a person has decided to dedicate to this profession to be a teacher, he/she should constantly keep learning and improving his/her skills, knowledge, technical, presentation and communication ones. And the students are so smart, so curious and interested in modern tendencies, politics, economics, globalization,cultural differences, richness and poverty, terrorism and wars, ecology and greenhouse emissions. The teacher is the one who only has to provoke a certain dialogue and to create a discussion. And this project is really unique one and it has to be held in every country. And I think, that we are already trained staff and we can work in other parts of the world and introduce to the children the hot issues and so we ourselves grow and continuously improve our own awareness and technological competence. Now when I have been once through this course I have to face the challenge to improve my knowledge and skills and competences, because I want to be more confident and to give more to the students with love and no fear of failure.

I am grateful for the time I spent in Finland, for the incredible people I spent it with, for the things I learned, for the sweet students the project met me with, for the amazing impressions and experiences, that will always remain in my mind.

I just got used to everything. Can’t we continue? :)

Neli

This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment